About me

I am a professional, qualified teacher and tutor with experience of working with all ages from nursery to primary, and adult. I teach all subjects at KS1 and KS2, specialising in private tuition for maths and English for all years, including Year 6 SATS.  I provide language teaching and tuition to schools, universities, businesses, individuals and families from complete beginner level to French and Spanish GCSE level and beyond.

a_me_and_G1I have an excellent record in helping children to achieve good progress. I am passionate about the subjects I teach and I feel that pupils pick up on and respond to this. My approach and teaching style enthuse and motivate children to learn, and I also make targeted use of games to make learning fun. I use multisensory teaching methods whenever possible, which is especially helpful to children with dyslexia and dyscalculia.

My major strengths are:

  • my ability to quickly build a strong rapport with children,
  • my skills and creativity in communicating ideas and information,
  • my empathy and patience in working to ensure understanding
  • my dedicated and organised attitude to work.

I have a degree in French and Spanish from the University of Nottingham, and I gained my PGCE from Newman University College in Birmingham.  I am also a Member of the Chartered Institute of Linguists.

Before beginning my teaching career, I worked in various roles requiring languages, including 11 years as a project manager in the translation industry.  My experience with a wide range of computer software enables me to comfortably incorporate ICT into learning and to prepare stimulating and motivational resources for the children.

Y1_craft_-_music_themeI have a Level 2 qualification in British Sign Language, and experience of working with hearing-impaired and deaf students.

I am experienced in supply and PPA cover, language teaching, private tuition for KS2 maths and English SATS, and multisensory teaching methods for children with dyslexia. Please click on the areas you are interested in to find out more about me and how I can help you.